What being a Hixson Scholar means to me

When I first learned about the Hixson Opportunity Awards, I almost didn’t send in my application. I felt like I was not good enough for the award and I more than likely wouldn’t get it. I mean, I was going against everyone in Muscatine County and I felt that people who were smarter than me would get it. About a week later, I was talking to my physics teacher and she was talking about how her college life because she also went to Iowa State.  Then we eventually got on the topic of Financial aid and scholarships. She told me about the Hixson awards and told me I should apply for it. I told her how I felt about it. She soon talked me into applying for it. When I found in the mail that I had an envelop from the Hixson awards, I was already mentally prepared for the worst. After a few minutes, I worked up the courage to open it. I was bawling like a baby  when I read my letter. I was so happy and the stress about having to pay for college was gone.

Being a Hixson scholar means that someone believed in me. Someone who I have never met and spoken to, believed that I could do great things with my life. By having her believe in me, I feel it gives me motivation to do great things in school.

Being a Hixson scholar means having a second family. As cheesy as it sounds, its true. I feel everyone in my section are very close to one another. We are not afraid to speak to each other and we have a blast with our peer mentors. I feel I can talk to my peer mentors about anything. I truly believe I have made friends that will last a lifetime.

Being a Hixson scholar means everything to me. Thank you once again Christina for believing in me

One comment

  1. tierneyjw · December 11, 2014

    It takes a truly amazing woman to do what she does and to put so much faith into people she only knows 500 words worth of an essay about.

    Like

Leave a Reply

