How I’ve grown and what I’ve learned

When first coming here, I was so nervous. I did not want to leave my younger siblings and close friends. Having to be around new people and knowing almost no one. I was not ready.  I mostly did not want to feel alone. I had to learn to be by myself without someone being there telling me what to do. I pretty much had to grow up a bit more.

I feel I have grown to be more responsible. I never used to have a planner or write stuff down in high school. I have learned that if I don’t write stuff down, i’ll forget what it is and if it is important. For assignments, I ,have to write it down or else I won’t remember to do it.

I also have become more financially responsible. At the beginning of the year, I would just go and spend my money on whatever. I have learned not to do that and only spend if I have a need to.

I have also become more open. It normally takes me a bit for me to open up to people and be myself but I felt comfortable in our group. I felt comfortable around them and I didn’t feel shy. I’m grateful for the people I’ve met and a thanks to Nikki and Sam. You guys are great!!

2 comments

  1. lnschmidt · December 7, 2014

    I can’t imagine not using a planner! I stress out if I just forget it in my room. I’m glad you feel comfortable with us, because you are awesome! And I totally agree about those peer mentors of ours. I love our group even if we may be dysfunctional at times!

    Like

  2. HaganDaazWillis · December 9, 2014

    I feel like I have became more responsible as well. I never used to use a planner either and just like you said, without one now I would also probably forget a lot of stuff.

    Like

Leave a Reply

